Skip to main content

General information – Energy Country Profile

General Country Information - Energy Administration

  • Area: 20.273 sq km
  • Arable land: 8.4 %
  • Permanent crops: 1.3 %
  • Forest area: 12.630 sq km
  • Forest land: 62.3 %
  • Population: 1.978.029 (July 2016 est.)
  • GDP (purchasing power parity): US$66.13 billion (2016 est.)
  • GDP per capita (purchasing power parity): $32.000 (2016 est.)
  • GDP composition per sector: 
    • agriculture 2.3%
    • industry 33.6%
    • services 64.1% (2016 est.)

Public Administration

  • Country name: Republic of Slovenia
  • Capital: Ljubljana
  • Administrative divisions: 200 municipalities (obcine, singular - obcina) and 11 urban municipalities (mestne obcine, singular - mestna obcina)
  • Urban municipalities: Celje, Koper-Capodistria, Kranj, Ljubljana, Maribor, Murska Sobota, Nova Gorica, Novo Mesto, Ptuj, Slovenj Gradec, Velenje

Energy Administration

In January 2005, the supervision of the energy sector was transferred to the Directorate for Energy of the Ministry of the Economy, after having been under the control of the Ministry of Environment, Spatial Planning and Energy from 2001 to 2004.

The Directorate is in charge of definining energy policy objectives of the country. It is divided into two departments: The first one is Energy & Mines, while the other one is Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy.

Since January 2002, Slovenia also has an Energy Agency in charge of regulating the energy markets. The autonomous agency was created to oversee the liberalisation of energy markets and their transparency, to facilitate the entry of newcomers and ensure fair competition amongst all players.

Membership status

Slovenia is an EU member country since 1 May 2004 and presently has 8 seats in the European Parliament

Last update: 09 2019