Skip to main content

Detail – Energy Country Profile

Baltic Sea Offshore Wind Joint Declaration of Intent signed

The Pomeranian Offshore Wind Conference was concluded by the signing ceremony of the Baltic Sea Offshore Wind Joint Declaration of Intent” signed by the European Commission, Poland, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Lithuania, Latvia, Germany and Sweden strengthening the close cooperation of the Baltic States with the aim to accelerate the development of offshore wind capacity.

The areas of cooperation will include spatial planning for maritime areas, grid development, capacity planning and support mechanisms. These components are of utmost importance for the development of a well-functioning internal energy market and cross-border infrastructure.

The Baltic Sea can play an important role in our efforts to achieve Europe’s climate neutrality by 2050 and facilitate the energy transition of the countries of region. By exploiting the potential of offshore wind in the Baltic Sea, the emerging industry, offshore turbine manufacturing will be supported and can link companies to the international supply chain.