Skip to main content

General information – Energy Country Profile

General Country Information - Energy Administration

  • Total Area: 56.594 sq km   Land: 55.974 sq km Water: 620 sq km
  • Arable land: 16 % (2018 est.)
  • Permanent crops: 1.5 % (2018 est.)
  • Forest land: 34,4 % (2018 est.)
  • Other: 41.9% (2018 est.)
  • Population: 4 208 973 (July 2021 est.)
  • GDP (purchasing power parity): $116.339 billion (2019 est.)
  • GDP per capita:  $28,602 (2019 est.)
  • GDP composition by sector: 
    • agriculture 3,7 % 
    • industry 26,2 %
    • services 70,1% (2017 est.)

Public administration

  • Country name: Republic of Croatia
  • Capital: Zagreb
  • Administrative disivions: 20 counties (zupanije, zupanija - singular) and 1 city* (grad - singular); Bjelovarsko-Bilogorska, Brodsko-Posavska, Dubrovacko-Neretvanska (Dubrovnik-Neretva), Istarska (Istria), Karlovacka, Koprivnicko-Krizevacka, Krapinsko-Zagorska, Licko-Senjska (Lika-Senj), Medimurska, Osjecko-Baranjska, Pozesko-Slavonska (Pozega-Slavonia), Primorsko-Goranska, Sibensko-Kninska, Sisacko-Moslavacka, Splitsko-Dalmatinska (Split-Dalmatia), Varazdinska, Viroviticko-Podravska, Vukovarsko-Srijemska, Zadarska, Zagreb, Zagrebacka

Energy administration

  • The Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development oversees the energy, environment and climate change policy. It replaced the Ministry of Environmental Protection and Energy in July 2020.
  • The Energy Regulation Agency (HERA) regulates the energy sector and controls prices, except for feed-in tariffs, biofuels and CHP (consulting role)
  • The Croatian Energy Market Operator (HROTE) oversees the power and gas markets, operates the wholesale electricity market and incentivises the development of renewable energy sources. It acts under the supervision of HERA.
  • The Institute of Energy (EIHP), created by the Government, is in charge of energy planning. Its main objective is to implement an energy development strategy. The institute collaborates with the associations of energy, gas, solar energy and the Croatian nuclear company.

Membership status

  • Member country since 2013.


  • Croatia applied for EU membership in 2003 and was in negotiations from 2005 until 2011.
  • On 9 December 2011 leaders from the EU and Croatia signed the accession treaty. After its ratification by all EU countries and Croatia,  the country became the 28th EU member country on 1 July 2013.
  • Throughout the interim period until the accession, Croatia as an acceding country had active observer status in the European Institutions. The purpose was to allow Croatia to become familiar with the working methods of the EU institutions and to be involved in the decision-making process.

Last update: 03 2021